• Part of
    Ubiquity Network logo
    Publish with us Download book proposal form

    Contact us

    HUP is an international scholarly publisher, and its background institution is the University of Helsinki. HUP functions under Helsinki University Library in collaboration with Gaudeamus publishing house, one of the leading academic publishers in Finland.

    Contact us if you are planning a manuscript and looking for an open access academic publisher, or if you wish to discuss open access publishing in general.


    Kaisaniemenkatu 13 A, 00100 Helsinki

    Our team

    Publishing Director
    Leena Kaakinen
    +358 50 540 1303

    Managing Editor/Communications Manager
    Anna-Mari Vesterinen
    +358 50 406 2824

    Publication Specialist
    Leena Rautjärvi
    +358 50 523 3567

    Communications and Publications Coordinator
    Matleena Sopanen
    +358 50 593 3900

    Helsinki University Press Academic Board

    For the period 2024–2027

    The Helsinki University Press Academic Board meets regularly to make the publishing decisions of the Press. The Board is comprised of the following members:

    Lorraine Dowler, Professor of Geography, Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies, and International Affairs, Penn State University, United States.
    Jo Guldi, Professor of Quantitative Theory and Methods, Emory College, United States.
    Jari Lyytimäki, Leading researcher, Finnish Environment Institute, Finland.
    Samu Niskanen, Professor of Medieval History, Department of Philosophy, History and Art Studies, University of Helsinki, Finland.
    Martha C. Nussbaum, Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics Law School and Philosophy Department, University of Chicago, United States.
    Lena Näre, Professor of Sociology, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Helsinki, Finland.
    Swati Parashar, Professor in Peace and Development Studies, School of Global Studies, University of Gothenburg, Sweden.
    Marja Peltola, University Lecturer, Department of Education, University of Helsinki, Finland.
    Rupert Stasch, Professor of Social Anthropology, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom.
    Shannon Sullivan, Chair of Philosophy and Professor of Philosophy and Health Psychology, Department of Philosophy, UNC Charlotte, United States.
    Miira Tuominen, University Lecturer, Department of Philosophy, Stockholm University, Sweden.
    Claes Tängh Wrangel, Researcher and Acting Managing Director, Centre for Multidisciplinary Studies on Racism, Uppsala University, Sweden.

    Minna Niemi-Grunsdtröm, University Librarian, University of Helsinki, Finland (Ex-officio)

    Chair, Publishing Director Leena Kaakinen, Helsinki University Press
    Secretary, Managing Editor Anna-Mari Vesterinen, Helsinki University Press

    Previous Academic Boards

    Academic Board members for the period of 2018–2021, see here.
    Academic Board members for the period of 2021–2024, see here.

    Steering Group

    The Helsinki University Library Board acts as the Press’ Steering Group. The list of board members can be accessed here.